ASTROLOGY AND COMPUTERS: THINGS PEOPLE SHOULD NOT MENTION IN ORDER NOT TO REVEAL THEIR AGE

One of the most widespread urban legends in the field of astrology  is “in order to focus a chart one should copy the printed chart by hand because only like that we can enter into communication with the spirit of the chart itself”.

This is a sentence I have been always hearing in the latest 20 years, and recently I re-read in an interview to a well known astrologer as a “pearl of wisdom” to people starting to study astrology for the first time.

This is completely different from my experience, and in effect I bought my first pc in order to avoid to draw charts by hand, and losing time with calculation. I’m absolutely against spending my own time with calculation. Obviously one should know how things work and IF NECESSARY I can do calculation by hand, but I think it is not necessary to spend time drawing by hand something we can print in seconds. Reading a chart  – especially for a traditional astrologer- means finding sources in old texts, not trying to evoking images while one should become mad drawing houses lines and planetary positions without mistakes (it is in fact well known how copying is a main source of errors).

In the same way I don’t do double-entry book-keeping by hand anymore ,  or I don’t copy by hand every entry of a book-keeping software in order to focus my mind into the profit of a company 🙂 I use a software and I’m happy with that.  So why it should be different for astrology?

I cannot close this post without to mention my favourite software: Solar Fire, for its level of customisation, which is almost infinite, and which I use as a primary software – and for a second, deeper look to the chart Phasis (the Italian traditional software by Marco Fumagalli) and the free software Morinus. I really could not do astrology without their help.

The (sad) truth 🙂 is that those saying that a chart should be cast by hand in order to focus on its meaning, are just born before the coming of computers. They started to study astrology being obliged to draw charts and do calculation by hand and now they cannot take advantage of benefits a computer can offer.

that is just to reveal to the world their age.

Written by Margherita Fiorello, CIDA certified member, for heaven astrolabe blog @ year 2013. If you want to be notified the next time I write something, subscribe to my RSS feed.

3 thoughts on “ASTROLOGY AND COMPUTERS: THINGS PEOPLE SHOULD NOT MENTION IN ORDER NOT TO REVEAL THEIR AGE

  1. They say its very important to know the how-to-calculate a chart. I am a little fearsome to speak aganist all the experienced astrologers I’ve met but, in my humble opinion, that is overstated.

    I think we MUST have tools for understand what you see in the chart, for the sole purpose of not creating wrong analogies, like saying garbage about intercepted houses, ou atributing very specific facts to world-range configurations; but that requirement doesn’t need a deep comprehension of spherical trigonometry and logatithms.

  2. margherita – i agree with your viewpoint and am happy you’ve said this here.

Leave a Reply

